Schools Kenya

Egerton University

The oldest college or university in Kenya is Egerton University. Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton, a British national who immigrated to Kenya in the 1920s, established it as a farm school in 1939.

About Egerton University

Kenya’s Egerton University is a public institution of higher learning. It is Kenya’s oldest higher education institution. The university’s main campus is situated in Njoro, a tiny village 25 kilometers (16 km) southwest of Nakuru. This is situated around 182 kilometers (113 miles) (by car) northwest of Nairobi, Kenya’s capital and largest city.

Egerton Farm School was the first name of the institution when it was established in 1939. Maurice Egerton, 4th Baron Egerton of Tatton, made a sizable land grant of 740 acres (3 km2) to establish it. The school’s original goal was to train white kids from Europe for vocations in agriculture. The institution was renamed Egerton Agricultural College in 1955. Agriculture courses were offered as one-year certificates and two-year diplomas. Lord Egerton contributed an additional 1,100 acres (4.5 km2) of property in 1958. Soon after, persons of all races from Kenya and other African nations were allowed to enroll at the college.

The college had yet another expansion in 1979 with assistance from the Kenyan government and USAID, joining the University of Nairobi network. The college received official status as a public university in 1987.

The college provides a wide variety of academic programs. A three-year diploma, bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, or doctorate are among the options available to students (Ph.D.). Western Michigan University and the university partnered in 2004, allowing students to complete the first half of their degrees at Egerton and the second half of their degrees at WMU in their choice of computer science, engineering, or business administration. The university is home to the UNESCO Regional Institute for Bioethics Documentation and Research as well as the UNESCO Chair in Bioethics. The Confucius Institute was founded by the university in 2010 to advance Chinese culture, language, and agricultural technology transfer.

The creation of an AgroScience and Technology Park, a Dryland Research Training and Ecotourism Centre, and the rehabilitation of the Njoro River are all contributions made by Egerton University to Kenya Vision 2030. The University has also established a Center for Capacity Building to provide short courses in institutional development, business and professional leadership, agribusiness, and small and medium-sized enterprises.

The University provides courses in computer science using the open, distance, and e-learning (ODeL) model in collaboration with African Virtual University (AVU). In terms of research, instruction, and industry, Egerton University has created several domestic and foreign ties and connections. The university operates the African Council for Online Education’s Secretariat as well as the HIV and AIDS Prevention and Management Unit, Botanic Garden, and Community Resource Center (ACDE).

Faculty and Departments At Egerton University

Faculty of Agriculture

  • Animal Sciences
  • Dairy, Food Science and Technology
  • Crops, Horticulture, and Soil Sciences
  • Agriculture Economics and Agribusiness Management

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Languages, Literature, and Linguistics
  • Department of Peace Security and Social Studies 
  • Department of Philosophy, History, and Religion

Faculty of Commerce

  • Business Administration Department
  • Accounting & Finance Department

Faculty of Education and Community Development Studies

  • Agricultural Education and Extension
  • Applied Community and Development Studies
  • Psychology
  • Counseling and Educational Foundations and Curriculum
  • Instruction and Educational Management

Faculty of Engineering and Technology

  • Agricultural Engineering (AGEN)
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEEN)
  • Industrial and Energy Engineering (IEEN)
  • Electrical and Control Engineering (ECEN)

Faculty of Environment and Resources Development

  • Department of Environmental Science
  • Department of Geography 
  • Department of Natural Resources

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Human Anatomy
  • Internal Medicine
  • Child Health and Paediatrics
  • Clinical Medicine
  • Community Health
  • Human Nutrition
  • Reproductive Health
  • Surgery
  • Pathology
  • Nursing
  • Medical Physiology

Faculty of Law

  • Law

Faculty of Science

  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Botany
  • Zoology 
  • Mathematics

Frequently Asked Questions about Egerton University

How many Students Does Egerton University admit per year?

Answer: Every year, the university awards degrees to about 3000 students.

Is Egerton University a Federal or State School? 

Answer: It is a public university in Kenya. 

What is the cut-off mark for Egerton University?

Answer: Refer to the university’s website.

What is Egerton University Official Website?


Is Egerton University a good school?

Answer: Yes. The University is placed third in Kenya in the Webometric Rankings of Global Universities for January 2022. Universities are evaluated according to impact, openness, and excellence metrics in the Webometric rankings. It also ranked 5th in Kenya, 3168th in the global 2023 rating, and scored in 27 research topics.

Are there hostels at Egerton University?

Answer: Yes. The University has a hostel facility for all students. The hostels are controlled by the Directorate of University Welfare Services which is under the Division of Administration; Planning and Development.

When is the Admission Form coming out for Egerton University?

Answer: Visit the university’s website to find out.

Who founded Egerton University?

Answer: The University was established as a Farm School by Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton, a British national who settled in Kenya in the 1920s.

What are the requirements for Egerton University?

Answer: Entry Requirements

Applicants must: A minimum grade of C+ (C plus) in at least seven subjects taken from the subject groupings listed by the Kenya National Examinations Council, or an equivalent, must be obtained for the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education, to qualify.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *