Schools Kenya

Multimedia University of Kenya

The Multimedia University of Kenya wants to be the go-to institution for training, research, innovation, and extension. To fulfill the ambitions of a vibrant society, it has as its mission to offer high-quality training and to promote a culture of research, innovation, and extension. Kenya Vision 2030 and Multimedia University of Kenya’s mission are complementary. As an institution of the information age, MMU will be crucial to the success of the ICT efforts by contributing qualified staff.

The University will announce more undergraduate and graduate training programs offered by the faculties and schools. To address the quality and relevance, these courses will be provided in consultation with industry professionals. The university, an ICT Center of Excellence, is eager to host the Open University of Kenya and the Korean government’s development of the Kenya Advanced Institute of Science and Technology. The institution is constantly looking for methods to improve its possibilities, increase its capacity, and enter into new collaborations and MOUs that will help the community and the university.

About Multimedia University of Kenya

A public institution in Nairobi, Kenya’s Nairobi County, is called the Multimedia Institution of Kenya (MMU). The university provides instruction in the social sciences, mass media, business, engineering, and IT.

MMU was established in 1948 when Central Training School, then known as East African Post Training School, was first established. Later, Kenya Posts and Telecommunications Corporation was established. (KPTC). Following the dissolution of the East African community in 1977, this occurred. The college was elevated to Kenya College of Communications Technology under KPTC in 1992, and after KPTC split into Postal Corporation of Kenya, Telkom Kenya Ltd, and Communications Commission of Kenya in 1999, TKL became a subsidiary of Telkom Kenya Ltd (TKL). (CCK).

Following the privatization of TKL in 2006, the college became a division of CCK. It was elevated in 2008 to become Multimedia University College of Kenya under Legal Notice No. 155 of 2008 as a constituent college of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology.

Hon. Mwai Kibaki, the immediate former president, granted the college a university charter on March 1, 2013, giving it university status following an inspection by the Commission for University Education, a body designated by the Kenyan government to oversee the standard of higher education in the nation. The organization changed its name to the Multimedia University of Kenya after that.

There are certificate, diploma, bachelor’s degree, and master’s degree programs offered by MMU. The university provides short courses through its Center for further education that is meant to supplement the academic programs on offer and give students additional training.

Two semesters, from January to April and September to December, make up the MMU academic year. The library offers instructions on how to use the e-resources in its on-site e-resources center. Circulation services, technological services, collection development, and the e-resources center are the four divisions of the MMU library.

ICT has a museum at MMU. The main campus’s ICT museum is situated along Magadi Road and is accessible to the general public. The largest ICT museum in East and Central Africa is there.

MMU will take part in the construction of Konza Technology City. MMU Kenya has adopted a strategy similar to that of MMU Malaysia, whereby MMU Kenya would hasten the growth of Kenya’s information and knowledge industries. One of the foundations of Vision 2030 is to make Kenya an economy with a middle class.

MMU was named the top-ranked public university in Kenya for ICT excellence in 2012. Additionally, it serves as the SAP Skills for Africa Program’s training facility, which primarily educates African university graduates in software engineering.

Faculty and Departments At Multimedia University of Kenya

Faculty of Business and Economics

  • Business
  • Procurement
  • Economics 
  • Actuarial Science

Faculty of Computing and Information Technology

  • Bachelor of Science in Information Technology
  • Bachelor of Science in Computer Technology
  • Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering 
  • Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Faculty of Engineering and Technology

  • Department of Electrical & Information Engineering 
  • Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering

Faculty of Media and Communication

  • Mass Communication
  • Journalism
  • Strategic Public Relations
  • Applied Communication 
  • Film Production and Animation

Faculty of Science and Technology 

Faculty of Social Sciences and Technology

  • Sociology
  • Psychology
  • Political science

Frequently Asked Questions about Multimedia University of Kenya

How many Students Does the Multimedia University of Kenya admit per year?

Answer: This is at the discretion of the University however, a total of 3610 students attend classes on the main campus, while 100 enroll in certificate, diploma, and degree programs at the CBD location.

Is Multimedia University of Kenya a Federal or State School? 

Answer: It is a public university.

What is the cut-off mark for the Multimedia University of Kenya?

Answer: Visit the School’s website to find out.

What is the Multimedia University of Kenya’s Official Website?


Is Multimedia University of Kenya a good school?

Answer: Yes. The University was recognized as the top-ranking public university in Kenya in ICT excellence. 

Are there hostels at the Multimedia University of Kenya?

Answer: Yes. Some of the hostel facilities include a common Room with a TV, common Washing Machine, and 24-hour security.

When is the Admission Form coming out for the Multimedia University of Kenya?

Answer: Check the School’s website.

Who founded the Multimedia University of Kenya?

Answer: The University was founded by the Kenyan Government under the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012.

What are the requirements for the Multimedia University of Kenya?

Answer: Entry Requirement

KCSE mean grade of C+ with a minimum grade of C+ in Physics/ Physical Science, and C+ in Mathematics, Chemistry, and either Biology/ Biological Science or any Group III, IV, or new V subjects; OR A–level two principal passes and one subsidiary pass in the relevant subjects; OR Relevant Diploma from an institution recognized by the University Senate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *