Schools South Africa

University of KwaZulu-Natal

The University of KwaZulu-Natal aspires to become the top institution for African scholarship. UKZN seeks to create an organizational culture that is centered on values and equips the institution and its members to accomplish institutional objectives.

About the University of KwaZulu-Natal

A university with five campuses in the South African province of KwaZulu-Natal is known as the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN; Zulu: INyuvesi yakwaZulu-Natali; Afrikaans: Universiteit van KwaZulu-Natal). The University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville combined, and it was born on January 1st, 2004, as a result.

In 2004, the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville merged to create a new institution of higher learning.

Professor Malegapuru Makgoba, a distinguished medical researcher and former president of the Medical Research Council, received approval from the University of Natal’s Council on May 31, 2002, to be appointed vice chancellor and university principal. He took office on September 1, 2002. He had been given the responsibility of guiding the University of Natal through its merger with the University of Durban-Westville. By accomplishing this, he succeeded as the University of Natal’s final vice-chancellor. Brenda Gourley was followed as Vice-Chancellor by Professor Makgoba.

Following a brief tenure in 2004 as the acting Vice-Chancellor, he was formally named the University of KwaZulu-founding Natal’s Vice-Chancellor. On September 30, 2005, a ceremony marked his installation.

After serving two consecutive terms of five years, Professor Makgoba retired in 2015. Yet controversies dogged his administration. World-class scholars allegedly left the university as a result of Makgoba’s “culture of antagonism” at the institution. Dr. Albert van Jaarsveld succeeded him.

The Higher Education Act of 1997 governs the institution, and the South African Minister of Education and the South African Parliament have given their approval to the University of KwaZulu-Statute, Natal which outlines the university’s constitution.

The university is composed of four colleges, each of which is composed of several schools. A subdivision is typically dispersed throughout one or more of the university’s campuses. For instance, the Pietermaritzburg and Westville campuses each have a Chemistry department.

Faculty and Departments At the University of KwaZulu-Natal


  • School of Applied Human Sciences
  • School of Arts
  • School of Built Environment and Development Studies
  • School of Education
  • School of Religion, Philosophy, and Classics
  • School of Social Sciences


  • School of Engineering
  • School of Agricultural, Earth, and Environmental Sciences
  • School of Chemistry and Physics
  • School of Life Sciences
  • School Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science


  • School of Clinical Medicine
  • School of Laboratory Medicine & Medical Sciences
  • School of Health Sciences
  • School of Nursing & Public Health


  • Graduate School of Business and Leadership
  • School of Accounting, Economics, and Finance
  • School of Law
  • School of Management, IT and Governance

FAQS about the University of KwaZulu-Natal

Q. How many Students Does the University of KwaZulu-Natal admit per year?

A. The University received a total of 106 270 applications to study at UKZN in 2020. 

Q. Is the University of KwaZulu-Natal a Federal or State School? 

A. It is a public state-funded university.

Q. What is the cut-off point for UKZN?

A. The majority of the university’s qualifications have a minimum point requirement of 28 points.

Q. What is the University of KwaZulu-Natal’s Official Website?


Q. Is the University of KwaZulu-Natal a good school?

A. Yes. The university is ranked #370 in Best Global Universities. It is ranked 370 in Best Global Universities Rankings by U.S. News & World Report.

Q. Are there hostels at UKZN?

A. Yes. UKZN provides housing in off-campus and on-campus houses that are owned by UKZN (leased or contracted). When there is a shortage of space, competition for spots is fierce. There is a continuous process of building new homes.

Q. When is the admission form coming out for the University of KwaZulu-Natal?

A. The University Online Application Form 2024-2025 Academic cycle will be available from 1 April 2023 to 30 September 2023.

Q. Who founded the University of KwaZulu-Natal?

A. The university was established by the merger of the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville

Q. What are the requirements for UKZN?

A. The medium of education at UKZN is English, and UKZN needs a pass in English (Home Language or First Additional Language (FAL)) at Level 4 (50% or above) but note that the College of Law needs a pass in English Home language at Level 5 or English as FAL on Level 6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *