Schools South Africa

University of the Free State

The University of the Free State is a research-driven, student-centered, and regionally engaged institution that advances social justice and development by producing globally competitive graduates.

The ultimate objective of the university is to disseminate and create new information that significantly aids in societal advancement.

About the University of the Free State

The University of the Free State is a multi-campus public institution located in Bloemfontein, the Free State’s capital and the seat of South Africa’s judiciary (Sesotho: Yunivesithi ya Freistata; Afrikaans: Universität van die Vrystaat). It was first founded as a higher education facility in 1904 as a tertiary division of Grey College. The name was changed to the University of the Orange Free State in 1950 when it was proclaimed an independent Afrikaans-language university. Two satellite campuses serve the university. The university was completely desegregated in 1996 after initially being a whites-only district. In 2010, the first black vice chancellor of a university was appointed.

When the Grey College initially admitted students for a full B.A. term in 1904, the long-held ambition of a university in the Free State finally came true. The tertiary division of Grey College was renamed the Grey University College (GUC) in 1906, but the school and college split up soon after. The Orange River Colony’s Parliament approved legislation designating the GUC as an official institution of higher learning in the arts and sciences in 1910. The University of South Africa (UNISA), which was created as an autonomous university by legislation in 1916, is responsible for the formal creation of the University of the Free State in terms of the contemporary South African university system. 

The University of the Orange Free State was given the status of a full-fledged, independent institution in 1950, and its name was once more altered to reflect this. It developed a parallel-medium tuition scheme in 1993. Yet in 2016, the university chose to make English the main language of instruction.

The UFS experienced a period of tremendous expansion after new university legislation was adopted in 1999. The University of the Free State now has more students enrolled than at any other time in its history. The name of the institution was changed to the University of the Free State in February 2001 to better reflect the true nature of the institution and its surroundings. The university commemorated its centennial in 2004.

Faculty and Departments At the University of the Free State

Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences

  • Department of Business Management
  • Department of Economics and Finance
  • Department of Industrial Psychology
  • Department of Public Administration and Management
  • School of Accountancy

Faculty of Education

  • Department of Childhood Education

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • The School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
  • The School of Biomedical Sciences  
  • The School of Clinical Medicine  
  • The School of Pathology  
  • The School of Nursing

Faculty of The Humanities

  • African Languages
  • Afrikaans Dutch, German, and French
  • Anthropology
  • Art History Visual Culture Studies
  • Communication Science
  • Criminology
  • English
  • Geography
  • Hebrew
  • History
  • Linguistics and Language practice
  • Philosophy and Classics
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • South African Sign Language and Deaf Studies

Faculty of Law

  • Mercantile Law
  • Private Law
  • Public Law

Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences

Natural Sciences

  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science and Informatics
  • Engineering Sciences
  • Genetics
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
  • Mathematical Statistics and Actuarial Science
  • Microbiology and Biochemistry
  • Physics
  • Plant Sciences
  • Zoology and Entomology

Agricultural Sciences

  • Agricultural Economics
  • Animal Science
  • Soil, Crop, and Climate Sciences
  • Sustainable Food Systems and Development

Building Sciences

  • Architecture
  • Quantity Surveying and Construction Management

Faculty of Theology and Religion

  • Bachelor of Divinity BDiv

FAQS about the University of the Free State

Q. How many Students Does the University of the Free State admit per year?

A. The university is among the institutions that don’t provide data on acceptance rates.

Q. Is the University of the Free State a Federal or State School? 

A. It is a public university.

Q. What is the cut-off point for the University of the Free State?

A. Visit the school’s website.

Q. What is the University of the Free State Official Website?


Q. Is the University of the Free State a good school?

A. Yes. It is ranked #875 in Best Global Universities. The university is also one of the best universities in South Africa. 

Q. Are there hostels at the University of the Free State?

A. Yes. The University’s Housing & Residence Affairs offers a variety of accommodation categories, including, residences, student flats, student rooms, and residential units.

Q. When is the admission form coming out for the University of the Free State?

A. The university’s admission form will be out on 01 April 2023.

Q. Who founded the University of the Free State?

A. The university was founded by Swart and Martinus Theunis Steyn.

Q. What are the requirements for the University of the Free State?

A. Entry requirements:

For entrance to a bachelor’s degree, you must have a National Senior Certificate (NSC), a National Certificate: Vocational (NCV) Level 4, or an AP score between 18 and 24. Four subjects (40%–49%) on level 3. Level 3 language of instruction accounts for 40% of all options.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *