Schools South Africa

Walter Sisulu University

Walter Sisulu University, one of South Africa’s six comprehensive universities, is a developmental institution that emphasizes urban renewal and rural development by addressing the socioeconomic demands of the community, business, and industry through science, technology, and innovation.

About Walter Sisulu University

On July 1, 2005, Border Technikon, Eastern Cape Technikon, and the University of Transkei merged to create Walter Sisulu University (WSU), an institution of technology and science with campuses in Mthatha, East London (Buffalo City), Butterworth, and Komani (Queenstown), all in South Africa’s Eastern Cape. The university bears Walter Sisulu’s name, a well-known participant in the fight against apartheid.

In 1976, the government of the Transkei homeland requested the establishment of the University of the Transkei, which at the time began as a division of the University of Fort Hare. In the late 1980s and early 1990s, the Border Technikon and Eastern Cape Technikon were founded.

Faculty and Departments At Walter Sisulu University

Faculty of Business Sciences

  • Department of Accounting & Finance
  • Department of Corporate Communication & Marketing
  • Department of Management & Governance
  • Department of People Development & Technology
  • Department of Tourism, Hospitality & Sports Management

Faculty of Science, Engineering, and Technology

  • Department of Informatics & Mathematical Sciences
  • Department of Applied Sciences
  • Department of Built Environment
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Information Technology
  • Department of Visual Arts


  • Bachelor of Education (FET): Economics and Management Sciences
  • Bachelor of Education: Senior Phase and Further Education and Training Teaching (Technical)
  • Postgraduate Certificate: Education in Senior Phase and Further Education & Training Teaching (PGCE SP & FET)
  • BEd Foundation Phase Teaching (BEd FPT)
  • Bachelor of Education (Hons) (BEd Hons)

Faculty of Management Sciences

  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Public Management and Administration
  • Department of Tourism & Hospitality


  • Department of Accounting Sciences
  • Department of Administration and Hospitality
  • Department of Economic and Business Sciences

Faculty of Educational Sciences

  • Department of Adult, Foundation Phase & Educational Foundations Education
  • Department of Business, Commerce & Management Education
  • Department of Humanities & Creative Arts
  • Department of Mathematics, Natural & Consumer Sciences Education
  • Department of Continuing Professional Teacher Development


  • Medicine Programmes
  • Nursing Programmes
  • Public Health Programmes
  • Rehabilitation Medicine Programmes

Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences & Law


  • Afrikaans
  • African Languages
  • English
  • History
  • Geography


  • Anthropology
  • Criminology & Administration of Criminal Justice
  • Library & Information Science
  • Philosophy & Religious Studies
  • Political Studies
  • Sociology and Population
  • Development Studies


  • Criminal & Procedural Law Unit
  • Legal History & Philosophy Unit
  • Mercantile Law Unit
  • Private & Customary Law Unit
  • Public Law Unit
  • Law Clinic


  • Psychology
  • Social Work

Faculty of Natural Sciences

  • Department of Biological & Environmental Sciences
  • Department of Mathematical Sciences & Computing
  • Department of Chemical & Physical Sciences

Faculty of Economics and Information Technology

  • Department of Information Technology Systems
  • Department of Management Studies
  • Department of Economics and Finance

FAQS about Walter Sisulu University

Q. How many Students Does Walter Sisulu University admit per year?

A. This is at the discretion of the University.

Q. Is Walter Sisulu University a Federal or State School? 

A. It is a Public Comprehensive University.

Q. What is the cut-off point for Walter Sisulu University?

A. The entire Entrance Point Score will be determined using points (APS). For a bachelor’s degree, APS must be at least 26.

Q. What is Walter Sisulu University Official Website?


Q. Is Walter Sisulu University a good school?

A. Yes! The University ranked 22nd in South Africa, 4567th in the global 2023 rating, and also scored in 24 research topics. 

Q. Are there hostels at Walter Sisulu University?

A. Yes. The University offers conducive hostels to students.

Q. When is the admission form coming out for Walter Sisulu University?

A. Check the university’s website.

Q. Who founded Walter Sisulu University?

A. The University was founded through a merger of the former Border Technikon, Eastern Cape Technikon, and the University of Transkei. It is a university established in terms of the Higher Education Act No. 101 of 1997, as amended.

Q. What are the requirements for Walter Sisulu University?




WSU welcomes applications from prospective students who have a National Certificate (Vocational-Level 4) and who intend to enroll in Higher Certificate, Diploma, or Degree programs following the Government Gazette of November 26, 2009, which was published in the official government journal. The following criteria must be met to be admitted to WSU with an NVC Level 4:

Qualification minimum entry requirements 

Higher Certificate

  • must satisfy the statutory requirements for NC (V) Level 4
  • 40% in either one’s first language or their mother tongue, but at least one of those must be their language of instruction (LOTL)
  • either 50% in math or literacy in math
  • 40% for life orientation.
  • 50% in the remaining four vocational topics.
  • record of evidence for any subject that was unsuccessful


  • must satisfy the legislative standards for NC(V) Level 4
  • 60% in three required occupational topics and 50% in three foundational subjects, including LOTL.
  • undergraduate degree
  • must satisfy the legislative standards for NC(V) Level 4
  • 70% in three required vocational topics and 60% in three foundational subjects, including LOTL.

General Admission Requirements 

The following minimum entry requirements for university programs are set forth by the Higher Education Act No. 101 of 1997, as revised in May 2008, as of January 2009:

  • A National Senior Certificate is the minimum qualification for admission to the higher certificate, diploma, and bachelor’s degree programs (NSC).
  • Considering policy: The Government Gazette, page 2, Beginning in January 2009, this rule will be imposed on all institutions of higher learning.
  • The policy establishes the National Senior Certificate (NSC) level as the minimum requirement for entrance to higher education.
  • Although being the main entry point, NSC does not ensure admission to any program of study in higher education.
  • Under the framework of this policy, WSU makes use of its authority to establish particular admission standards as a higher education institution.
  • On the website,, under Student Admissions, you may find a complete list of disciplines that are part of the recognized national curriculum.

Minimum Admission Requirements

Matric & NSC Requirements Each program’s NSC and matric requirements are described in the prospectuses for the school or program. Admission Point Score Candidates who have earned an NSC qualification are needed to achieve the Admission Point Score (APS) cutoff for each program. Each NSC subject’s results are converted into points. The final APS, or Admission Point Score, may also include the outcomes of interviews and other evaluations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *