Schools Kenya

South Eastern Kenya University

The mission of South Eastern Kenya University is to deliver high-quality education that satisfies the interests of all parties involved through teaching, research extension, consulting, and entrepreneurship. In addition, the institution is dedicated to providing high-quality services and fostering a supportive learning environment built on academic freedom, collaboration, the pursuit of excellence, professionalism, and honesty to appease all interested parties and adhere to regulatory requirements. To fulfill this commitment, the institution will make sure that there is effective communication and ongoing development of the efficiency of the quality management systems built on the ISO 9001:2015 Standards. The university will periodically evaluate this policy and the defined quality objectives to ensure their applicability and relevance.

About South Eastern Kenya University

The South Eastern University College (SEUCO), a Constituent College of the University of Nairobi, was replaced by the South Eastern Kenya University, a full-fledged university. Since it was founded in 2008, the university has experienced extraordinary growth. Approximately 8,000 students are enrolled now. Our highly skilled teaching team, which consists of professors and lecturers, is something we take great pride in. The majority of them have doctoral degrees and a wealth of expertise in both teaching and research.

This guarantees that our students are well-versed in their fields of study, setting them apart from the competition. Our primary goal is to produce well-rounded graduates who can aid in the growth of this nation. The University is a top university in the area, offering a range of certificate, diploma, and degree programs. With top-notch instruction, imaginative classroom activities, ground-breaking research, and significant community engagement, SEKU aspires to become a World Class University.

Faculty and Departments At South Eastern Kenya University

School of Business and Economics

  • Department of Management Sciences
  • Department of Business and Entrepreneurship
  • Department of Economics

School of Science and Computing

  • Department of Computer Science and Technology
  • Department of Life Sciences
  • Department of Physical Sciences
  • Department of Mathematics and Actuarial Science

School of Health Sciences

  • Department of Food Science, Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • Department of Nursing
  • Department of Public Health

School of Agriculture, Environment, Water and Natural Resources Management

  • Department of Agricultural Sciences
  • Department of Environmental Science and Land Resources Management
  • Hydrology and Aquatic Sciences
  • Geology and Meteorology

School of Education

  • Educational Administration and Planning
  • Educational Communication and Technology
  • Educational Psychology
  • Educational Foundations

School of Engineering and Technology

  • Department of Agricultural Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Industrial and Textile Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering

School of Education, Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Linguistics and Literature
  • Geography, History, and Religious Studies
  • Sociology, Anthropology, and Community Development

Frequently Asked Questions about South Eastern Kenya University

How many Students Does South Eastern Kenya University admit per year?

Answer: The University admits about 1803 freshmen and 191 transfer students each year.

Is South Eastern Kenya University a Federal or State School? 

Answer: It is a fully-fledged Public University.

What is the cut-off mark for South Eastern Kenya University?

Answer: Check the school’s website.

What is South Eastern Kenya University Official Website?


Is South Eastern Kenya University a good school?

Answer: Yes. It ranked 20th in Kenya and 7218th in the World 2023 overall rankings.

Are there hostels at South Eastern Kenya University?

Answer: Yes. The University currently has eight hostels, namely: Victoria, Turkwell, Elementaita, Athi, Baringo, Yatta, Magadi, and Turkana.

When is the Admission Form coming out for South Eastern Kenya University?

Answer: The University Online Application for the 2023/2024 academic year is now open and the Admission Management of the school has released the online Application Form for the 2023/2024 Academic year.

Who founded South Eastern Kenya University?

Answer: The University was awarded the Charter by His Excellency Hon. Mwai Kibaki, the former President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander in Chief of the Defence Forces.

What are the requirements for South Eastern Kenya University?

Answer: Admission Requirement

At least an aggregate of C- in the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Examination (KCSE) or a relevant craft certificate for Diploma programs: And an aggregate of D (Plain) in the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Examination (KCSE) OR a relevant Artisan level certificate for Certificate Programs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *